Nationally Designated Areas Montenegro

The Common Database on Designated Areas (CDDA) was created in 2014 by Cogea for the European Marine Observation and Data Network. It is entirely based on GIS Data from the European Environmental Agency's (EEA), plus external links and selected EEA tabular data joined by Cogea to the feature attributes, as well as a calculation by Cogea of marine and coastal location of features.The CDDA is commonly known as 'Nationally designated areas'. The inventory began in 1995 under the CORINE programme of the European Commission.It also contains data for the area of Montenegro It is now one of the agreed Eionet priority data flows maintained by the EEA with support from the European Topic Centre on Biological Diversity. It is the result of an annual data flow through Eionet countries. The EEA publishes the dataset and makes it available to the World Database of Protected Areas (WDPA). CDDA data can also be queried online in the European Nature Information System (EUNIS).The whole dataset is available for download on the EMODnet Human Activities portal. In the webmap the EEA dataset has been filtered by Cogea to show only (i) marine areas, i.e. areas with a marine percentage higher than 0 and/or a marine "ecotype" (as calculated or reported by the EEA) to and (ii) areas that, even if not identified as marine by the EEA, intersect the EEA coastline or that are within a distance of 1 km from the coastline (using a 1 km inner buffer from the EEA coastline). In both cases the coast_mar field value=1. The EEA coastline dataset is available at latest version of the CDDA (version 16 from 2018) covers the entire geographical area of the 33 EEA member countries and its six cooperating countries. It includes the full geographical area under the responsibility of European countries as well as other States and Territories related to key initiatives in the European region. The resulting data covers the 39 countries as well as Greenland (Denmark) and the French Overseas Departments and Territories and Overseas Collectives. Geographical coverage of GIS vector boundary data IS: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo under UNSC Resolution 1244/99, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom. EEA does not have permission to distribute some or all sites reported by Estonia, Finland, Ireland and Turkey. Compared with the previous release, this one includes the updated dataset 'CDDA_2018_v01', published by the EEA in November 2018. For further information please visit the EEA's website.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Partner PP7
Topic category Nature and species conservation sites & protected areas
Sub category National Protected Areas
Resource language English
Domain area Europe,Montenegro,Montenegrin Adriatic Sea,Montenegro terrestrial area
Owner EEA,Emodnet Human Activities
Provider EEA,Emodnet Human Activities
Data portal EEA,Emodnet Human Activities
Presentation form Map (map represented in raster or vector form)
Spatial representation Raster (grid)
Coordinate reference system epsg:3035 - ETRS89 / LAEA Europe
Web services
Temporal extent 2015-08-31
Data accessibility
Validation level Official data
Additional information Re-use of content for commercial or non-commercial purposes is permitted free of charge, provided that the sources (both EMODnet - Human Activities, and primary sources) are acknowledged. EMODnet - Human Activities accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever for the re-use of content accessible on its website.
Relevance for testing
    Relevance for modules
      Metadata completeness Complete
      Import preferences Selected for import